1. Win32lib question
- Posted by Jonas Temple <jktemple at yhti.net> Nov 08, 2002
- 535 views
I'm going to try and describe the problem I'm having without being too vague.... I have a win32lib program that calls a routine in a dll that basically starts another Windows app (non-Euphoria). My Euphoria routine passes the Euphoria program's instance to the dll routine and if the secondary program starts it returns the handle to the window of the spawned app. What I need to know is when the spawned app closes. I'm fairly certain that my program is being sent some messages by the spawned program. Is it possible using win32lib to receive these messages and interpret them correctly? Was that vague enough? Thanks!!!!!!!!! Jonas
2. Re: Win32lib question
- Posted by Wayne Overman <euman at BELLSOUTH.NET> Aug 24, 2000
- 517 views
- Last edited Aug 25, 2000
------=_NextPart_000_0025_01C00E15.2D858100 charset="iso-8859-1" Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable Brian I'm glad you studied that one farther than I. You go MAN...... euman at bellsouth.net ------=_NextPart_000_0025_01C00E15.2D858100 charset="iso-8859-1" Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN"> <HTML><HEAD> <META http-equiv=3DContent-Type content=3D"text/html; = charset=3Diso-8859-1"> <META content=3D"MSHTML 5.50.4207.2601" name=3DGENERATOR> <STYLE></STYLE> </HEAD> <BODY bgColor=3D#ffffff> <DIV><FONT face=3DArial size=3D2>Brian I'm glad you studied that one = farther than=20 I.</FONT></DIV> <DIV><FONT face=3DArial size=3D2>You go MAN......</FONT></DIV> <DIV><FONT face=3DArial size=3D2></FONT> </DIV> <DIV><FONT face=3DArial size=3D2><A=20 ------=_NextPart_000_0025_01C00E15.2D858100--
3. Re: Win32lib question
- Posted by "Christian Cuvier" <christian.cuvier at agriculture.gouv.fr> Jul 04, 2005
- 527 views
> posted by: Derek Parnell <ddparnell at bigpond.com> > > Andy wrote: > >>> >>> I was wondering what happened to the win32lib. Since it hasen't been updated >>> in a long time, is it still being developed or was it abandoend > > > It is not abandoned. I provide support for the existing release. > > I'm slowly working on a rewrite of the library. The current one is not > flexible enough to meet future needs. The work is not a high priority as the > current library is fairly stable and usable. A higher priority for me is to > develop a viable alternative implemenation of Euphoria. > > Note to Greg Haberek: I've changed the internal API for user-written controls > and I'm sure you'll have to rework some of the new Graph control. Sorry about > that but I hope you'll find the new API a lot more versatile. > > -- Derek Parnell Melbourne, Australia irc://irc.sorcery.net:9000/euphoria > ------- This is why I'm holding off development on the new SynEdit control, which ideally could be accessed like a RichEdit, but has extended functionality (bookmarks, folding, adjustable selection, ...).The other reasons are disenchantment over RDS and my spending time playing bridge on the net :). If you are interested in my helping with your "alternative implementation", just let me know... CChris
4. Win32lib question
- Posted by dmccu at connect.ab.ca Mar 24, 2002
- 511 views
Hi everyone, As a new registered user of Euphoria I am finding the language pretty much perfect for my needs, and the quick and helpful support from Robert Craig and this board is something that I am very happy with. I wonder though about Win32 development, is Win32lib being worked on or what is the story? I notice the date of March 5/01 as the last update on the archives. I am not getting on anyone here, I am just wondering about this, as Euphoria is the perfect language to have a good solid Win32 development tool with it, and one that is updated on a regular basis. If this topic has already been discussed I apologize, I tried to search this list but had no luck. I hope I have not stepped on any toes here. Now for my newbie windows question, How do you have multiple windows in Win32lib? You only have one Winmain statement but I need to go from one window to the next. Do I have to make child windows of the main window all the time? Thanks, Dan P.S. put me in the pro-Goto group, I am sure I could write neater better code without the dreaded Goto but as a hack hobbyist programmer I am happy to just make it work and if I'm comfortable with so-called spaghetti code and I get the job done I don't care if it isn't the most structurally perfect or neatest, it is how I like to program.
5. Re: Win32lib question
- Posted by Dan Moyer <DANIELMOYER at prodigy.net> Mar 24, 2002
- 512 views
Dan, Welcome. As far as I know, you're right, to make multiple windows, make each after the first a child of it (or any others, I think). If you haven't already, check out Judith's IDE, it's a big help in easily making Windows programs. Might also try my "RunDemos", it's helpful to easily see & make use of the various demos/examples for Win32Lib. Here's an example of what Judith's IDE did for making some windows (it made each window a child of the just previously created one, though on the version of the IDE I used, it said (within the IDE) that they were all children of the first window; myself, I don't know what difference any specific window parenting would make, but you can make them however you want. I put the "moveZOrder" command in so that when you opened a sequence of windows, and then closed them, the main would not get minimized. Dan Moyer -- multiple windows demo -- code generated by Win32Lib IDE v0.10.4 include Win32lib.ew without warning ---- -- Window Window1 global constant Window1 = create( Window, "Window1", 0, Default, Default, 400, 300, 0 ) global constant PushButton7 = create( PushButton, "Open Window 2", Window1, 20, 20, 90, 30, 0 ) global constant PushButton8 = create( PushButton, "Open Window 3", Window1, 128, 20, 90, 30, 0 ) global constant PushButton9 = create( PushButton, "Open Window 4", Window1, 244, 20, 90, 30, 0 ) ---- -- Window Window2 global constant Window2 = create( Window, "Window 2", Window1, Default, Default, 400, 300, 0 ) global constant PushButton10 = create( PushButton, "Open Window 5", Window2, 52, 40, 90, 30, 0 ) ---- -- Window Window3 global constant Window3 = create( Window, "Window 3", Window2, Default, Default, 400, 300, 0 ) global constant PushButton11 = create( PushButton, "Open Window 6", Window3, 60, 40, 90, 30, 0 ) ---- -- Window Window4 global constant Window4 = create( Window, "Window 4", Window3, Default, Default, 400, 300, 0 ) global constant PushButton13 = create( PushButton, "Open Window 7", Window4, 76, 36, 90, 30, 0 ) ---- -- Window Window5 global constant Window5 = create( Window, "Window 5", Window4, Default, Default, 400, 300, 0 ) ---- -- Window Window6 global constant Window6 = create( Window, "Window 6", Window5, Default, Default, 400, 300, 0 ) ---- -- Window Window7 global constant Window7 = create( Window, "Window 7", Window6, Default, Default, 400, 300, 0 ) ---- procedure Window1_onClick () openWindow( Window5, Modal ) end procedure onClick[Window1] = routine_id("Window1_onClick") ---- procedure PushButton7_onClick () openWindow( Window2, Modal ) end procedure onClick[PushButton7] = routine_id("PushButton7_onClick") ---- procedure PushButton8_onClick () openWindow( Window3, Modal ) end procedure onClick[PushButton8] = routine_id("PushButton8_onClick") ---- procedure PushButton9_onClick () openWindow( Window4, Modal ) end procedure onClick[PushButton9] = routine_id("PushButton9_onClick") ---- procedure Window2_onClose () moveZOrder( Window1, HWND_TOP) end procedure onClose[Window2] = routine_id("Window2_onClose") ---- procedure PushButton10_onClick () openWindow( Window5, Modal ) end procedure onClick[PushButton10] = routine_id("PushButton10_onClick") ---- procedure Window3_onClose () moveZOrder( Window1, HWND_TOP) end procedure onClose[Window3] = routine_id("Window3_onClose") ---- procedure PushButton11_onClick () openWindow( Window6, Modal ) end procedure onClick[PushButton11] = routine_id("PushButton11_onClick") ---- procedure Window4_onClose () moveZOrder( Window1, HWND_TOP) end procedure onClose[Window4] = routine_id("Window4_onClose") ---- procedure PushButton13_onClick () openWindow( Window7, Modal ) end procedure onClick[PushButton13] = routine_id("PushButton13_onClick") WinMain( Window1, Normal ) ----- Original Message ----- From: <dmccu at connect.ab.ca> To: "EUforum" <EUforum at topica.com> Sent: Sunday, March 24, 2002 8:56 PM Subject: Win32lib question > > Hi everyone, > > As a new registered user of Euphoria I am finding the language pretty > much perfect for my needs, and the quick and helpful support from > Robert Craig and this board is something that I am very happy with. I > wonder though about Win32 development, is Win32lib being worked on or > what is the story? I notice the date of March 5/01 as the last update > on the archives. I am not getting on anyone here, I am just wondering > about this, as Euphoria is the perfect language to have a good solid > Win32 development tool with it, and one that is updated on a regular > basis. If this topic has already been discussed I apologize, I tried to > search this list but had no luck. I hope I have not stepped on any toes > here. > > Now for my newbie windows question, How do you have multiple windows in > Win32lib? You only have one Winmain statement but I need to go from one > window to the next. Do I have to make child windows of the main window > all the time? > > Thanks, > Dan > > P.S. put me in the pro-Goto group, I am sure I could write neater > better code without the dreaded Goto but as a hack hobbyist programmer I > am happy to just make it work and if I'm comfortable with so-called > spaghetti code and I get the job done I don't care if it isn't the most > structurally perfect or neatest, it is how I like to program. >
6. Re: Win32lib question
- Posted by "Thomas Parslow (PatRat)" <tom at almostobsolete.net> Mar 25, 2002
- 498 views
> Hi everyone, > As a new registered user of Euphoria I am finding the language pretty > much perfect for my needs, and the quick and helpful support from > Robert Craig and this board is something that I am very happy with. I > wonder though about Win32 development, is Win32lib being worked on or > what is the story? I notice the date of March 5/01 as the last update > on the archives. I am not getting on anyone here, I am just wondering > about this, as Euphoria is the perfect language to have a good solid > Win32 development tool with it, and one that is updated on a regular > basis. If this topic has already been discussed I apologize, I tried to > search this list but had no luck. I hope I have not stepped on any toes > here. AFAIK Derek will be have version 0.57 out very soon, it's having a bit of pre-release testing at the moment. > Now for my newbie windows question, How do you have multiple windows in > Win32lib? You only have one Winmain statement but I need to go from one > window to the next. Do I have to make child windows of the main window > all the time? I see Dan Moyer has already answered this with some helpful examples so I won't try :) > Thanks, > Dan > P.S. put me in the pro-Goto group, I am sure I could write neater > better code without the dreaded Goto but as a hack hobbyist programmer I > am happy to just make it work and if I'm comfortable with so-called > spaghetti code and I get the job done I don't care if it isn't the most > structurally perfect or neatest, it is how I like to program. Evil I tell you! EEEEVVVVIIIILLLL! ;) Thomas Parslow (PatRat) E-Mail/Jabber: tom at almostobsolete.net ICQ: 26359483
7. Re: Win32lib question
- Posted by Derek Parnell <ddparnell at bigpond.com> Mar 26, 2002
- 501 views
---- Original Message ----- From: <dmccu at connect.ab.ca> To: "EUforum" <EUforum at topica.com> Subject: Win32lib question > > Hi everyone, > > As a new registered user of Euphoria I am finding the language pretty > much perfect for my needs, and the quick and helpful support from > Robert Craig and this board is something that I am very happy with. I > wonder though about Win32 development, is Win32lib being worked on or > what is the story? I notice the date of March 5/01 as the last update > on the archives. I am not getting on anyone here, I am just wondering > about this, as Euphoria is the perfect language to have a good solid > Win32 development tool with it, and one that is updated on a regular > basis. If this topic has already been discussed I apologize, I tried to > search this list but had no luck. I hope I have not stepped on any toes > here. > > Now for my newbie windows question, How do you have multiple windows in > Win32lib? You only have one Winmain statement but I need to go from one > window to the next. Do I have to make child windows of the main window > all the time? > All you need to do is create more than one window and organise a triggering action to open the others. The window referenced in WinMain () is the "prime" window. Other windows can be true children to the prime one or independant windows. The only catch is that when the prime window is closed, all others are too. Here is some sample code: ---------------------- include win32lib.ew constant wmain = create(Window,"Main",0,0,0,400,400,0), wother = create(Window,"Other", 0, 50,50,150,150,0) procedure activate_main(integer self, integer event, sequence p) openWindow(wother, Normal) end procedure setHandler(wmain, w32HActivate, routine_id("activate_main")) WinMain(wmain, Normal) ----------- Derek
8. Win32lib question
- Posted by Feta <mb11363 at CHELLO.BE> Nov 14, 2000
- 513 views
- Last edited Nov 15, 2000
Humm, we can do a lot of things with this wonderful library, but is there a way to know the class of a control with just an id ? why ? I have a lot of controls IDs in a sequence like this : sequence s .... s[1] = create( EditText, "", Win, 95, 0, 105, 20, 0 ) s[2] = create( DropDownList, "", Win, 95, 20, 105, 80, 0 ) s[3] = create( Radio, "", Win, 95, 60, 55, 20, 0 ) etc ... and I want to copy all the values of these controls in one other sequence t by example. So I think I should probably do a thing like that : for i=1 to length(s) do if integer ( s[i] ) and s[i] != 0 then -- if it's a valid id if s[i] is an EditText control then t=append(t, getText(s[i]) ) elsif s[i] is an DropDownList control then t=append(t, getIndex(s[i]) ) elsif etc .... end if end if end for But I don't know how to do.
9. Re: Win32lib question
- Posted by Derek Parnell <dparnell at BIGPOND.NET.AU> Nov 15, 2000
- 495 views
Hi "Feta", at this stage you cannot do this. But it's very easy to implement and I've been think of doing it anyway, so I'll put it into the next release. It'll be something like .... info = getControlInfo( id , item) where item can be either a single keyword or a list of keywords. It would return the item(s) requested by the keywords. eg. sequence info info = getControlInfo(s[i], w32CI_Type) if info[1] = True then -- A valid ID and valid types supplied. if info[2] is an EditText control then t=append(t, getText(s[i]) ) elsif info[2] is an DropDownList control then t=append(t, getIndex(s[i]) ) elsif etc .... end if end if This is just an idea for now. Does anybody else have opinions about this issue? Of course another way would be to do this... s = {} . . . s = append(s, {create(...), EditText}) s = append(s, {create(...), DropDownList}) . . . for i=1 to length(s) do if integer ( s[i][1] ) and s[i][1] != 0 then -- if it's a valid id if s[i][2] is an EditText control then t=append(t, getText(s[i][1]) ) elsif s[i][2] is an DropDownList control then t=append(t, getIndex(s[i][1]) ) elsif etc .... end if end if end for ------ Derek Parnell Melbourne, Australia (Vote [1] The Cheshire Cat for Internet Mascot) ----- Original Message ----- From: "Feta" <mb11363 at CHELLO.BE> To: <EUPHORIA at LISTSERV.MUOHIO.EDU> Sent: Wednesday, November 15, 2000 6:56 AM Subject: Win32lib question > Humm, we can do a lot of things with this wonderful library, but is there a > way to know the class of a control > with just an id ? > why ? I have a lot of controls IDs in a sequence like this : > > sequence s > .... > s[1] = create( EditText, "", Win, 95, 0, 105, 20, 0 ) > s[2] = create( DropDownList, "", Win, 95, 20, 105, 80, 0 ) > s[3] = create( Radio, "", Win, 95, 60, 55, 20, 0 ) > etc ... > > and I want to copy all the values of these controls in one other sequence t > by example. > > So I think I should probably do a thing like that : > > for i=1 to length(s) do > if integer ( s[i] ) and s[i] != 0 then -- if it's a valid id > > if s[i] is an EditText control then > t=append(t, getText(s[i]) ) > elsif s[i] is an DropDownList control then > t=append(t, getIndex(s[i]) ) > elsif etc .... > > end if > > end if > end for > > But I don't know how to do.
10. Re: Win32lib question
- Posted by Bernie <xotron at PCOM.NET> Nov 14, 2000
- 528 views
On Tue, 14 Nov 2000 20:56:57 +0100, Feta <mb11363 at CHELLO.BE> wrote: >Humm, we can do a lot of things with this wonderful library, but is there a >way to know the class of a control >with just an id ? >why ? I have a lot of controls IDs in a sequence like this : > How about this: sequence s atom edtx fuction edtxt() return create( EditText, "", Win, 95, 0, 105, 20, 0 ) end function s[1] = routine_id("edtext") then append them to the arrays Then use call_func(x[1],{}) Bernie
11. Re: Win32lib question
- Posted by Derek Parnell <dparnell at BIGPOND.NET.AU> Nov 15, 2000
- 506 views
- Last edited Nov 16, 2000
Hi Bernie, I think you missed to point. I think what was being asked was, given a control id, and only a control id, how can one tell what sort of control it is? Currently, there is no support for this in win32lib. If you need to do this sort of thing, you have to create your own solution. ------ Derek Parnell Melbourne, Australia (Vote [1] The Cheshire Cat for Internet Mascot) ----- Original Message ----- From: "Bernie" <xotron at PCOM.NET> To: <EUPHORIA at LISTSERV.MUOHIO.EDU> Sent: Wednesday, November 15, 2000 9:59 AM Subject: Re: Win32lib question > On Tue, 14 Nov 2000 20:56:57 +0100, Feta <mb11363 at CHELLO.BE> wrote: > > >Humm, we can do a lot of things with this wonderful library, but is there a > >way to know the class of a control > >with just an id ? > >why ? I have a lot of controls IDs in a sequence like this : > > > > How about this: > > sequence s > > atom edtx > > fuction edtxt() > return create( EditText, "", Win, 95, 0, 105, 20, 0 ) > end function > > s[1] = routine_id("edtext") > > then append them to the arrays > > Then use call_func(x[1],{}) > > > Bernie
12. Re: Win32lib question
- Posted by "Gwen (Feta)" <mb11363 at CHELLO.BE> Nov 15, 2000
- 501 views
Hello Derek! Thanks for your help, I'm expecting the next ver. of win32lib ! You're one of the DevTeam, aren't you ? So I have again a 'little' question (nevermind if you're too busy of bored !) : I'm making a tiny roguelike game (in case you know, it's like Adom, Nethack, Angband, ...) and all the graphics are in fact ASCII char with colors. I begon it under Eu-Dos and I'm trying to adjust it to use win32lib ('cause all the advantages I use setTextColor(), setPenPosition() and wPuts() for each char, but unfortunately it's very very slow (in a 640*480 window with a PII 350 : +- 1 frame/sec. gloups !), is it in your plan to improve that, or...heu...do you see another way to quicly print char with switching colors to the screen ? thanks in advance ! Gwen PS : sorry for all the mistakes in the text, I just can't speak english
13. Re: Win32lib question
- Posted by Matt Lewis <matthewwalkerlewis at YAHOO.COM> Nov 15, 2000
- 478 views
- Last edited Nov 16, 2000
--- "Gwen (Feta)" <mb11363 at CHELLO.BE> wrote: > So I have again a 'little' question (nevermind if you're too busy of bored > !) : I'm making a tiny roguelike game (in case you know, it's like Adom, > Nethack, Angband, ...) and all the graphics are in fact ASCII char with > colors. I begon it under Eu-Dos and I'm trying to adjust it to use win32lib > ('cause all the advantages Cool. Post something ASAP (DOS, Win, whatever)! > I use setTextColor(), setPenPosition() and wPuts() for each char, but > unfortunately it's very very slow (in a 640*480 window with a PII 350 : +- > 1 frame/sec. gloups !), is it in your plan to improve that, or...heu...do > you see another way to quicly print char with switching colors to the > screen ? > thanks in advance ! OK, it looks like you're probably just printing to a window directly, right? If so, you might look into using a pixmap, and blitting that do the screen. I know, this kind of takes away from the simplicity you'd be using in DOS, but, as I'm sure Jiri would be happy to point out, that's what you get for moving to windows. It's not that bad, really, and you could probably keep much of the same code, and add an onPaint event that blits the pixmap to the window. Seriously, though, I'd be very interested in seeing your Rogue/Nethack clone. I've often thought about doing something like that myself. ===== Matt Lewis http://www.realftp.com/matthewlewis __________________________________________________ Do You Yahoo!? Yahoo! Calendar - Get organized for the holidays! http://calendar.yahoo.com/