Re: Updates on Eu 4.2.0

new topic     » goto parent     » topic index » view thread      » older message » newer message
acEduardo said...

I believe Euphoria needs to copy some C++ ideas

I've been doing some pretty deep digging on the Euphoria source code over the past year or so. I'm by no means an expert yet but I don't think much of that is necessary. Here are my thoughts.

acEduardo said...

like RAII

As I understand it, RAII is only concerned with stack-allocated objects that are holding heap-allocated resources, and ensuring those heap-allocated resources get released when the stack-allocated object goes out of scope. (Please correct me if I'm wrong.) However in Euphoria, everything (except the integer type) is already heap-allocated, and you can use delete_routine() as a "destructor" to release any associated resources. This is how things like map:new() and allocate_string() work.

One feature that could be beneficial here is a using syntax that guarantees the lifetime of an object. But, while this might be a nice feature to have, I think it would also have to come with some sort of tracing/profiling feature that could tell you where those references accumulated. I already ran into this trying to use maps with Euphoria MVC to the point where I made the mapdbg library to trace each allocation and then back-track where things didn't get cleaned up correctly.

Here's an example of what using might look like:

include std/machine.e 

sequence globalFoos = {} 

memstruct FooType 
    -- some data types here 
end memstruct 

function newFoo() 
    atom foo = allocate_data( sizeof(FooType) ) 

return delete_routine( foo, "free" ) -- free foo when it goes out of scope 
end function 

procedure saveFoo( atom foo ) 
    globalFoos &= foo -- this will keep a reference to foo 
end procedure 

using atom myFoo = newFoo() do 

saveFoo( myFoo ) 

end using -- tries to delete myFoo but a reference is held in globalFoos, so