1. Error using euc

Hello, I'm new to OpenEuphoria but an old user of "classic" Euphoria 3.1.1. I've installed euphoria-4.1.0-Linux-x64 in Ubuntu 22.04 following the steps from the download page. The interpreter eui works fine, but when I try to compile with euc I have this error message:

/usr/bin/ld: /usr/local/euphoria-4.1.0-Linux-x64/bin/eu.a(be_w.o): relocation R_X86_64_32 against symbol `screen_image' can not be used when making a PIE object; recompile with -fPIE 

Thanks, Rodolfo.

PS: It's a pleasure to be in an Euphoria forum again!

new topic     » topic index » view message » categorize

2. Re: Error using euc

Although for most purposes, interpreting or binding EuGTK programs works fine, if you wish to compile your program, on newest Linux distros (e.g. Mint 19) euc fails: You'll need to run a short script:.

euc -build-dir build -extra-lflags="-no-pie" -makefile $1.ex 
cd ./build  
make -j8 -f $1.mak 

Replace the -j8 with -j[n] where [n] is the number of processors you have. Makes compilation faster.

Runtime exe will be back in your home folder.

Hope that solves the problem, and welcome back!

new topic     » goto parent     » topic index » view message » categorize

3. Re: Error using euc

Thanks for the answer, irv.

I have executed the commands and now the error messages are others:

/usr/bin/ld: /usr/local/euphoria-4.1.0-Linux-x64/bin/eu.a(be_runtime.o): en la función `power': 
be_runtime.c:(.text+0x4061): referencia a `__powl_finite' sin definir\\ 
/usr/bin/ld: /usr/local/euphoria-4.1.0-Linux-x64/bin/eu.a(be_runtime.o): en la función `Dpower': 
be_runtime.c:(.text+0x40dc): referencia a `__powl_finite' sin definir\\ 
/usr/bin/ld: /usr/local/euphoria-4.1.0-Linux-x64/bin/eu.a(be_runtime.o): en la función `e_log': 
be_runtime.c:(.text+0x417f): referencia a `__log_finite' sin definir\\ 
/usr/bin/ld: /usr/local/euphoria-4.1.0-Linux-x64/bin/eu.a(be_runtime.o): en la función `De_log':