1. Windows GUI prog: unexpected console window

I was a programmer in the 70's! Thanks!) I got an MleText, and tried to encrypt/decrypt some text files.

Finally all tests gave expected results! But with just ONE input file, during encryption, a black console window popped up in front of the Mle at about the 260th char, with a top line containing about 40 characters, as if I'd used a puts(1, {some random numbers}). But I couldn't find one.

Finally I used trace(1) to go through this part. I thought I'd left in some silly diagnostic. But the trace went through "sweetly". No clue about the console window, which still formed, as before, behind the trace.

Sorry if the answer's very obvious to experienced folk! Thanks for any tips!

- oldprog

new topic     » topic index » view message » categorize

2. Re: Windows GUI prog: unexpected console window

oldprog said...

I was a programmer in the 70's! Thanks!) I got an MleText, and tried to encrypt/decrypt some text files.

Finally all tests gave expected results! But with just ONE input file, during encryption, a black console window popped up in front of the Mle at about the 260th char, with a top line containing about 40 characters, as if I'd used a puts(1, {some random numbers}). But I couldn't find one.

Finally I used trace(1) to go through this part. I thought I'd left in some silly diagnostic. But the trace went through "sweetly". No clue about the console window, which still formed, as before, behind the trace.

Sorry if the answer's very obvious to experienced folk! Thanks for any tips!

- oldprog

Hi

Everyone here will try to help, but there's not enough detail here.