1. delegate support in euphoria?

hello, I'm a beginner, I would like to know if Euphoria supports the delegate concept, also known as: callbacks, anonymous functions.

for example, a 'retain' function filters a sequence based on a predicate (a func that returns a boolean). retain would take the sequence and the predicate as its two parameters.

now the programmer can use this construct, as an abstraction for later work that only differs by the arguments. (no need to write the same code when the "block" can be passed from outside)

new topic     » topic index » view message » categorize

2. Re: delegate support in euphoria?

kobi said...

hello, I'm a beginner, I would like to know if Euphoria supports the delegate concept, also known as: callbacks, anonymous functions.

for example, a 'retain' function filters a sequence based on a predicate (a func that returns a boolean). retain would take the sequence and the predicate as its two parameters.

now the programmer can use this construct, as an abstraction for later work that only differs by the arguments. (no need to write the same code when the "block" can be passed from outside)

Yes. The function routine_id() can be used to get an handle to any procedure or function and then that handle can be passed as an argument to a routine, which would call the handle's routine using either the call_func() or call_proc() as appropriate.

As an example, the custom_sort() function expects you to pass a routine_id as the comparison algorithm.

Here is an example of your 'retain' idea.

function odd_val(object X) 
	if sequence(X) then 
		return 0 
	end if 

if integer(X) then 
		return and_bits(X,1) 
	end if 

return 0 
end function 

function multiple_3(object X) 
	if sequence(X) then 
		return 0 
	end if 

if integer(X) then 
		return remainder(X, 3) = 0 
	end if 

return 0 
end function 

function retain(sequence A, integer criteria) 
	sequence temp 
	integer p = 0 

temp = repeat(0, length(A)) 

for i = 1 to length(A) do