Re: Euphoria History

new topic     » goto parent     » topic index » view thread      » older message » newer message
Lone_EverGreen_Ranger said...

Hey,

Does anyone have the complete history of Euphoria? I would like to know it as I am writing a detailed manual on Euphoria and having the history would come in handy.

Here's a "history" that I emailed to someone in 2005...

A Brief History of Euphoria by Robert Craig Rapid Deployment Software

1975-77: I had summer jobs programming in APL while enrolled in the computer option of Engineering Science at the University of Toronto. I was impressed with the APL interpreter's dynamic storage allocation, and operations on multi-dimensional arrays, but I was not happy with APL's dependence on the goto statement for all control-flow.

1980: I finished my Master's Thesis in computer science at the University of Toronto. My thesis was a comparison of conventional programming languages versus newer functional languages like FP, proposed by John Backus. Euphoria gets the idea of atoms and sequences from FP, although in FP strings were considered atoms. Euphoria treats strings as sequences.

1981-1989: I had software development jobs working at Litton Systems on cruise missiles, AES Data writing an assembler and linker, IBM Canada developing compilers for C, Cobol and BASIC and Array Systems developing an Ada-like language for parallel processing.

September 1989: I bought an Atari Mega ST and started to develop Euphoria. My goal was to develop something with FP-like data structures, but very simple, conventional control-flow statements.

1989-1992: I continued to enhance Euphoria and to increase its speed. I managed to speed up the interpreter by a factor of 25 over the first working version.

July 1993: Euphoria version 1.0 was released to various BBS's as well as CompuServe and America Online.

January 1996: The Euphoria Web site was created.