1. Considerations For A GUI Library for Euphoria

Forked from Re: GUI libraries

Hey, _tom!

You want to check these out and let us know what you think? grin

new topic     » topic index » view message » categorize

2. Re: Considerations For A GUI Library for Euphoria

Here are some more widget libraries. You can sort that table by language, which is nice!

new topic     » goto parent     » topic index » view message » categorize

3. Re: Considerations For A GUI Library for Euphoria

My starting point is: I am not a programmer, I do not want to know how this stuff works, I use text mode because is is easy, I want to use a gui sometime.

Pragmatic viewpoint: Greg, Irv, and Pete determine what is possible.

I would like to see a common Euphoria|Phix gui, which I guess could be libui. For a common gui all that is needed are the basics. For "real" programs you would then choose to use euGTK on Euphoria, and IUP on Phix.

All of the other options do not look like practical choices.

_tom

4. Re: Considerations For A GUI Library for Euphoria

_tom said...

My starting point is: I am not a programmer, I do not want to know how this stuff works, I use text mode because is is easy, I want to use a gui sometime.

You're a good researcher and technical writer, so I figured it would be good to have your viewpoint on the available C-based toolkits.

I'm like you, though: my initial impulse is to prototype with a console UI, although EuGTK makes prototyping a GUI waaaay easier, so I'm leaning that way now. It is frustrating to read "Not available for Windows," but it is what it is. There are only a few cases, and I haven't experienced anything app-halting yet. smile

My next effort is to see how easy it is to prototype with Phix's pGUI (using IUP) library, which also seems pretty easy to use. I have a little experience with it, but not comprehensive.

5. Re: Considerations For A GUI Library for Euphoria