1. rapideuphoria.com?

Recently I tried to do a file search at the archive but got an internal server error, also I noticed that there haven't been any new user contributions since March last year (I think this was around the time that the site went down), so I guess some problems weren't fixed after it went back up. Anyway I emailed Rob a few days ago but haven't received a reply.

I've been using euphoria for 20 years and have stuck with the final RDS release 3.1.1 (no disrespect to the devs, I just never saw the need to upgrade to the 4.x series). All things come to an end but it's sad to see the demise of this unique programming language. I've dabbled in other languages over the years but have kept coming back to euphoria because of its simplicity and elegance; I'll continue to use it as long as it runs on the OS I'm using.

new topic     » topic index » view message » categorize

2. Re: rapideuphoria.com?

I don't think Euphoria is dead yet.

I do suggest that you try Eu 4.1b2, however. There are many very useful features that don't exist in 3.x, and so far, only one very rarely-encountered bug, which is easily programmed around.

The most convincing (to me) reason for upgrading to 4.1 was this: when writing the EuGTK binding, there were a number of things which would have been difficult or impossible to code in 3.x. Eu 4.1 made it relatively easy.

new topic     » goto parent     » topic index » view message » categorize

3. Re: rapideuphoria.com?

I've been with Euphoria since it was available on 3.5" floppy disk! I love the language!

v4 is waaaaaaay better than v3.

It's unfortunate that development has so painfully slowed, because it still has huge potential on desktop platforms. It's so performant in so many domains. Maybe we should fund its development...

4. Re: rapideuphoria.com?