1. Recommended editor for Euphoria

I am now the 84-year-old owner of a partitioned Ubuntu/Windows10 SSD. I have no real complaint with ed, but with my new Unix based platform, what editor should I download? Edx has been recommended, and I have yet to find and try it. My needs are simple. Since 1990, I am no longer a programmer by trade, and see no reason to look beyond Euphoria for my needs.

new topic     » topic index » view message » categorize

2. Re: Recommended editor for Euphoria

try WEE https://github.com/peberlein/WEE

sometimes I also use Geany

_tom

new topic     » goto parent     » topic index » view message » categorize

3. Re: Recommended editor for Euphoria

Tom, I downloaded the WEE zip and note that the README says it requires 4.1.0 Beta. I am using 4.0.5., Allen

4. Re: Recommended editor for Euphoria

Even though oE 4.1 is "beta" in reality we all use it. (It has just a few niggles.)

So try Geany for now.

You can also try Phix. http://phix.x10.mx/download.php

Both oE and Phix are based on the original Euphoria ideas. I like promoting both, the more Euphoria the better.

_tom

5. Re: Recommended editor for Euphoria

alrobnett said...

Tom, I downloaded the WEE zip and note that the README says it requires 4.1.0 Beta. I am using 4.0.5., Allen

Install 4.1.0 Beta and use WEE. You'll think you have died and gone to heaven. Context Sensitive help that cannot be beat. Integrated everything.

Regards,
Ken Rhodes

6. Re: Recommended editor for Euphoria

Hi

Editor Wars eh,

Personally I use Kate in Linux, and editplus or edita on Windows, whichever takes me fancy.

Play with them all, use whatever you feel best fits you.

Chris

7. Re: Recommended editor for Euphoria

double post - sorry

8. Re: Recommended editor for Euphoria

Being new at this, you'll really appreciate an editor that gives you as much help as possible.