1. Drive Fragmentation

When I started coding ("in the Stone Age") disks were SLOW, and fragmentation was a BIG problem. When we tried to add a few lines to a source file, our editor generated a new file, so that we ended up with myfile(1), myfile(2) ... etc. We junked a BIG batch of old files in one session eventually, to minimize fragmentation. Today, we often forget the fragmentation problem?

Recently, I admit, I often have to make many corrections if I attempt a big Euphoria project. I hadn't realized how messy I'd been making my main drive. It was enough to be annoying.

Now I'm trying out a little USB stick to develop a group of files, whenever I can. At a good point, successful files can go onto the main drive - and the USB stick can be cleared, to "forget the mess".

But I've a feeling that there's a neater way, a clever editor, perhaps? - Phil

new topic     » topic index » view message » categorize

2. Re: Drive Fragmentation

newphil82 said...

When I started coding ("in the Stone Age") disks were SLOW, and fragmentation was a BIG problem. When we tried to add a few lines to a source file, our editor generated a new file, so that we ended up with myfile(1), myfile(2) ... etc. We junked a BIG batch of old files in one session eventually, to minimize fragmentation. Today, we often forget the fragmentation problem?

It's not as big a deal with modern filesystems and disks:

http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/75652/what-doesnt-need-defragmentation-linux-or-the-ext2-ext3-fs

newphil82 said...

Recently, I admit, I often have to make many corrections if I attempt a big Euphoria project. I hadn't realized how messy I'd been making my main drive. It was enough to be annoying.

Even vi lets you edit a file in place and overwrite the old one with your changes.

newphil82 said...