1. Devices names....

Good morning programmers , Good Morning America ,

the weather is fine , the temperature is high.... , the shares went up...

just started the system and see the huge CON... take coffee black and...

start to think about new magic concepts of prgramming in Euphoria!

Ok. At the time i am only a beginner of Euphoria and Programming. But i hope that all topics will help others beginners indeed.

I am reading the topic "File and Device Handling" from the Beginners Guide Euphoria.

There are the following names for devices: ( All on the DOS based - little older hardware technique )

CON - Console (screen) AUX - Auxilary serial port COM1 - Serial Port 1 COM2 - Serial Port 2 PRN - Parallel Printer NUL - Non ecisting Device.

OK. I have Euphoria 4.0

My question :

What are the actual Device Names for up to date PC Ports like : USB Port 1 , USB Port 2 , etc.

Yes , i have the complete tutorial of Euphoria.

To search the complete book for theese topics is a little bit cumbersome as a beginner.

Thanks for your efforts.

Hans

Thank you Chris ,

i understand.

I have heared about special "interface programmers"

They do nothing more than interface programming.

To transfer data from one mode to another.

The data transfer to a usb device is such the same i have realised from your posting.

Thanks

Hans

new topic     » topic index » view message » categorize

2. Re: Devices names....

Hi

Unless you are using an old DOS computer (not a dos box or console window), these are mostly irrelevant nowadays. The exception is CON which will output to the console.

CON usually = 1 so puts(1, "Hello\n") = puts(CON, "Hello\n") will print hello to the console, or the screen on a DOS computer.

File input and output is handled by open(), close(), seek, and so on, with printf() and puts() handling the actual file writing, and read(), read_file(), get() and gets() handling the rwading (other functions exist)