1. New System, New Editor?

OK, just bought two new PCs for my company, one of which will become my new development PC.

Setting up my Euphoria development environment, and thought I'd check: I've been using Crimson and Geany for editing. Anything better out there now days?

new topic     » topic index » view message » categorize

2. Re: New System, New Editor?

I like Vim, but I realize that it's not for everyone.

new topic     » goto parent     » topic index » view message » categorize

3. Re: New System, New Editor?

Hi,
everyone has thier favourite editor and have reasons for that. Normally based on needs, which differ from person to person. For myself, I can reccomend ultraedit but it is a commercial product. The ultracompare feature/product has saved me many hours of work.

Regards,
Alan

4. Re: New System, New Editor?

I have been using PSPad for several years. It isn't perfect, but it's free and mostly does what i need, and i really like the Hex mode, multi-file search and replace, file difference comparison, ASCII code table, and color code generator built into it. Also, syntax highlighting can be edited (I updated mine to handle the Eu 4.x keywords).

5. Re: New System, New Editor?

I used to use SciTE until about a year or two ago when I shifted over the Notepad++ (it does a nice job highlighting structures when editing XML and XML-related code.) At the same time I've also been using NetBeans just this week for its PHP editing support. I mess with others from time to time: Visual Studio, Eclipse, JEdit and Geany are some of the many I've fiddled with (or worked with in the case of VS2010, doing C#), trying to find something that works well for all the languages I use (Euphoria being but one of many.)

At home, I've got Lubuntu 'Trusty Tahr' running on an old Toshiba laptop. I still haven't figured out which editor works best for me there. On the commandline I've been using Joe.

For file comparisons (on Windows) I've been using WinMerge

Bugmagnet